The Divine Liturgy
The Divine Liturgy is the primary worship service in the Orthodox Church. Orthodox Church celebrates the Liturgy of St. John Chrysostom (or sometimes the Liturgy of St. Basil the Great); this type of liturgical service is often referred to as the "Eastern Rite" in Western churches. The term "Divine Liturgy" is generally used instead of the term "Mass", to differentiate between the Eastern Orthodox and Roman Catholic rites.

The Liturgy consists of 2 parts, the Liturgy of the Word, in which the Gospel is preached, and the Liturgy of the Faithful, in which the Holy Eucharist is offered. In the early Church, the catechumens (those who were studying to become Christian) would only stay for the Liturgy of the Word; the Liturgy of the Faithful contained rites that were kept secret amongst the Christians.

The Liturgical service is celebrated in the vernacular language of the people (in our case, English). This is not an innovation; until Latin was made the official language of the Western church (at a time when the majority of the people knew Latin), the worship services were in the native language of the people. Usually, the faithful stand during the Liturgy, although there are places to sit down. Hymns are sung a cappella; no musical instruments are used. The faithful participate actively in the Liturgy (more so than in the Roman Catholic Mass). Liturgy books, which include more information about the various parts of the service, are available in the church.

The Holy Eucharist is consecrated at every Liturgy, and the faithful partake of the newly-consecrated Gifts. However, at the Liturgy of the Presanctified Gifts, two (or more) Lambs (altar breads) are consecrated the Sunday before; the pre-consecrated ("presanctified") Gifts are made available to the faithful, but not without the liturgical rites. Also, a small portion of the Holy Gifts (both the Body and the Blood) are kept reserved in the tabernacle, for emergency use.
 Web Design by: Nookkin